What motivates me?

Since starting my studies at Uppsala University, I’ve often struggled finding motivation. For the years leading up to my studies, my motivation was to get accepted into Uppsala. After that goal was accomplished, I didn’t know what I wanted in life and what my motivation was.

I searched far and wide for answers. I would wander around town alone with my thoughts and pondered what to do with myself and what my future plans were. Getting the best grades didn’t drive me enough at that point, because I didn’t know what I wanted. I tried making myself a rewards system; every time I would get a good grade I would buy something I really wanted. However, this was as well a very ineffective way of extrinsic motivation. The first thing that motivated me for a long time was studying abroad. I worked very hard to be able to go on exchange, and while at Purdue, I felt confident and effective in my studies. This didn’t last long, though, and when I eventually returned to Sweden, I was back to square one. 

The first couple of months back I was in a real struggle. I was lost after coming back from my best semester ever and missed my American friends, and all I could think about was going back. I thought that after I booked my tickets for senior week (which we aren’t going to talk about) that it was going to be my motivation for the coming months, but I was wrong. After another crushing blow during a test I went home for a weekend to study for another test; this is when I realized that my source of motivation has been right in front of me my entire life.

I’ve been lucky in life. I have wonderful friends, an extremely supporting brother and parents who are still deeply in love after being together for over 30 years, but most importantly my parents are now my source of inspiration and motivation. The chances and opportunities I have gotten in the dice roll that is life are many. I grew up in a wealthy suburb of Stockholm, and I have gotten to travel the entire world and never had to worry about money, health or schooling. Why is that? The work my mum and dad have put in to give me those opportunities. They didn’t have it bad growing up, but not nearly as good as I’ve had it. It says a lot that I could travel to another country and not have to worry about the financial aspects, but this is far from the only thing they’ve done for me and my brother. 

They’ve supported me my entire life and never pressured me to attend university. They have said the cheesy thing every parent has said: “We support you no matter what,” and they’ve been completely honest in that statement. Even at my lowest points, my parents have been by my side and had my back even when I probably didn’t deserve that support. The hardest job each parent has is being just that, a parent. But the best job my parents have are being my biggest heroes.

In September 1986, two marvelous people, a British man and a Swedish woman, met and started this amazing journey. They were both the first in their families with university degrees and were starting their success in the professional world. However, that night they’re real success story started, their beautiful relationship. That relationship has produced countless memories while living in each of their home countries and raising two boys. They did it the right way and have kept on their entire life. One day I can only dream about having what they have, and I will have to accomplish that dream. I know I will do this because I have them backing me up every step of the way. So to my future wife and kids (knock on wood), if you ever want to thank anyone for your husband/father and how wonderful (hopefully) you think I am, you don’t have to look far. My parents are my number one source of motivation, because if I can give you half of what they’ve given me I know I’ve still done a hell of a job. I love you mum and dad.





Leave a comment