Does food control us?

You know that face one makes when their jaw drops out of utter disbelief? When they see the most moronic or crazy thing, they can’t stop themselves from making that puzzled expression? Well earlier this week, I had one of those moments. I was hanging with some friends and one friend, who is a pescatarian, grabbed a granola bar from the snack cabinet and came back over to us. I was minding my own business, probably on my phone, when I heard this moaning sound. I raised an eyebrow and my head, not sure what it was that I was looking for. Then, I saw my friend dancing in her seat, moaning to the taste of a sweet and salty nature valley bar!

My jaw dropped, to say the least. I was completely appalled. You know what, I get it. When you go out to a steakhouse or you’re at a BBQ and there is some unnecessarily good food, it’s okay to react with a sound or two. The savory taste of steak melting in your mouth is heavenly. But a granola bar?? I watched as she rolled her eyes and did her little “happy dance” in her seat as she was eating. “This is so good,” she said, practically moaning about the bar (I’m wondering what was in that bar to make it taste that good).

I know this is an abnormal circumstance: most people don’t freak out over eating bars. But have you ever sat back and thought about how food controls our lives? Honestly, I believe that it brings out every emotion imaginable in us humans, which is concerning. While in college, I lived in a fraternity for two years. The first year that I lived in the house, we had the most amazing chef ever. Chef Gary could make the most normal food the best tasting food in the world (towards the end of the year he got a bit too exotic for most eaters, but hey, I loved it). The second year was the Year of Chef Dave, or for most of us, the Year of Constant Hunger because his food tasted so bad. Most all of my brothers and I would go out for our meals, spending way too much money. A couple months in, I stopped doing this and just ate his food and now I’ll eat just about anything without complaining. 

Most people can’t do this, which is fair (I’m weird in a lot of ways). But now as I go through my days, it’s funny watching people’s emotions get the best of them because of food. “Hangry” is one of my least favorite terms in the English language. Doesn’t being so hungry that you become overly aggressive in conversation and moody seem a bit over the top? I’ve gone on a couple dates where we’ve taken a nice walk before dinner, and then they will comment that they get hangry and we need to eat as soon as possible. Really? I do think there are some times when being hangry is okay, like when you’ve ordered food at a restaurant and it’s taking years to come. Besides that, what’s the point? You’ll get your food when it comes, so don’t yip at me because you’re hungry.

Food lust (greed) is probably the worst emotion that can come out in people. I used to date this girl who had the most awful food lust in the world. No matter where we went of what we did, anything that I ordered she would try to eat on top of what she already had! Lucky enough for me, she was a very picky eater, so I could just order foods she didn’t like, in which she would get very upset. Food lust is a crazy thing: becoming so hungry that all you can think about is more consumption of food. Now, don’t get me wrong, I do eat a lot of food. But rarely will you ever see me scarfing down a plate of food and licking my plate clean. 

No matter which emotion comes out of you because of the lack of food or food consumption, once you taste the first bite of your food, happiness usually kicks in (or sadness if you lived in my fraternity). Which is a good point, as depression and anxiety can lead you to eating food, usually more food than normal, which is a terrible place to be in. But on the other side of things, joy from eating food radiates off people, and can be seen physically in happy food dances! I’ve seen people in the worst of moods grab a bite to eat, and they become totally new people. In 1943, Maslow created the hierarchy of needs, which stands true to this day. You have to fulfill your lowest level needs first, before you can move up the pyramid and find true success and happiness. And, on the lowest level of needs alongside air, water, warmth and rest, there is food!

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Food and emotions go hand in hand. Regardless of what kind of mood someone is in, food just could be the solution to the problem. I think the greatest quality that food has though, is the ability to bring people together. Eating is a part of social life, as it brings people together to love, laugh and genuinely have a good time! Think about most social gatherings: family reunions, weddings and even funerals. Though all different, that all have one thing in common: food. In an article titled “The Emotions of Food” on the Medium, Liz Cox says it best. “As food will always have an emotional connection, kitchens will always be places of love.” She also states that they may be places of frustration, anger and disappointment (food lust really is a terrible thing). 

Do we control food, or does food control us? Either way, food is a very important part of our lives, both basically and emotionally. So the next time you eat a granola bar, go ahead and moan a little bit. If anyone says anything, just tell them you are satisfying your hierarchy of needs!

Leave a comment