Happy Birthday Stefan!

Six years ago I met one hell of a person. I was going to my first festival, and when I got there, my dad informed that one of his colleague’s brother was going to be attending. I did call him, but I thought HE was the one working with my father. When I said my father’s name he immediately hung up, and when I called again he clicked the call away. After calling my dad, the third time was a charm. He answered, and I told him about my dad and his brother. He laughed and invited me to his bus to meet and get to know each other and his friends and eat a nice meal. That day, the 27th June 2013 a beautiful friendship started.

During the next year I would regularly talk to and spend time with a man twice my age at the time. He would give me advice regarding school and relationships. When I started dating a swimmer, a sport which he still coaches on the highest level, he laughed and explained to me that I would have to get used to scheduling around practices and meets. He introduced me to a lot of wonderful people, and without his friendship I wouldn’t have gotten to meet a lot of amazing people.

When I turned 18 years old, our relationship changed though, but for the better. He took me to my first bar and club on my 18th birthday. This was also a day where one of my close friends also lost his virginity, a big day for the squad which was celebrated with him buying a champagne bottle each for the two of us. Less than a month after that we went back to the place we first met with six of our friends. The difference this time was that I got to stay in the bus in the bunk beds. It was a perfect way to celebrate a year of friendship.

So how has our relationship been the last 5 years? It has gone from strength to strength. He has been there through breakups and when I’ve moved and struggled to get settled. I’ve been there during the mourning of one of his swimmers who left us way too early. If I ever were in trouble I know I could call him and he would drop everything and come help me. He was there for my high school graduation and will definitely be there for my university graduation. 

The man is a legend and a blessing to have in my life. It was an honour to celebrate his birthday last week in the beautiful city of Borlänge, and when I turn 40, I hope Stefan will be there to celebrate. Happy birthday mate, I love you!



Leave a comment